pasobsr.blogg.se

Macbook pro logic board replacement program
Macbook pro logic board replacement program










In this regard, it's a stronger protection than the UK Sale of Goods act.

#Macbook pro logic board replacement program full#

I believe that the new EU directive entitles you for a full refund for the 2 years of the warranty.

macbook pro logic board replacement program

For example, if a laptop broke after 4 years, and 6 years was a reasonable lifespan, that suggests a 1/3 refund. My understanding is that under the Sale of Goods Act you are entitled to a partial refund, which reflects the use that you got out of the product. As long as you haven't caused the problem through misuse, you're covered. > If an expensive laptop breaks after 4 years, then you can argue it wasn't fit for purpose and therefore must be fixed or replaced (or a full refund issued). This isn't Apple being nice, this is them fulfilling their legal obligations. Unless you'd bought it from another person rather than a business, you should have received the same treatment. > - Buy your Apple computer from Apple if you can.

macbook pro logic board replacement program

This is a very powerful piece of consumer law, and it's a shame it's not as well known as it should be.

macbook pro logic board replacement program

If you'd ordered it through someone else, you would have to have gone through them instead (it's up to the seller to sort out, not the manufacturer). > since I ordered it on the Apple website, even if it was on the french Apple Store website, they proposed me to replace it using the UK warranty If an expensive laptop breaks after 4 years, then you can argue it wasn't fit for purpose and therefore must be fixed or replaced (or a full refund issued). This all comes down to the sales of goods act, which means good must be "fit for purpose". There's no fixed time, but 6 years for electrical goods is a fairly good point. It's worth remembering this, however it's not always 6 years. > - You have a 6 years warranty in the UK. Buy your Apple computer from Apple if you can.Įdit: the legal warranty is 2 years in France, not 1 year. I ended up with the latest model without paying anything except a few hours spent at the Apple Store. I think I have been really lucky: I just wanted to repair it so I could sell it and buy a new model. Since they changed the logic board three times already, they proposed me to replace the MBP by a brand new one: the latest and high-end model (since they have to replace it with an equivalent), and I even received an external drive since the new models don’t have one, and despite having said that I don’t need it. I went back to the Apple Store, and they changed the logic board again (it wasn’t a problem because all replacements are covered by warranty).Ī few days later, the graphic issues started again.

macbook pro logic board replacement program

Until two months later, when the sound chip just died: no errors in OS X, but no sound at all (from speakers, microphone or jack plug). I went back to the Apple Store, and they changed it again. Nice surprise when he asked me where I bought it: since I ordered it on the Apple website, even if it was on the french Apple Store website, they proposed me to replace it using the UK warranty, which is 6 years (!) instead of 1 year in France  (I didn’t take the Apple Care).Ī few hours after having my computer back, the exact same graphic issues started again. I was about to pay for the new logic board, and the person confirmed to me that in case of a recall happening in the future, I would be refunded by Apple. After having acknowledged the situation  (Apple doesn’t officially admit there is a problem, and chances are that I will have to pay for a new logic board since I am out of warranty), I went to an Apple Store in the UK for a diagnostic. I had this model, and the graphic issues started to appear during the last summer.










Macbook pro logic board replacement program